3 Allina Health hospitals awarded 5 stars from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (August 21, 2023) — Allina Health Abbott Northwestern Hospital, Buffalo Hospital and Cambridge Medical Center have been awarded the highest quality rating from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Only 16 hospitals in Minnesota and 483 in the U.S. earned five-star ratings.

The CMS overall hospital rating is based on measured data publicly reported on CMS’ Care Compare tool. It summarizes measures across five aspects of quality, including patient experience and effectiveness of care into a single star rating for each hospital. The hospital rating shows how well each hospital performed on average compared to other hospitals in the U.S. in treating common conditions.

The rating system is based on 46 quality measures in 5 categories:

  • Mortality
  • Patient experience
  • Readmission rates
  • Safety of care
  • Timely and effective care

About Allina Health

Allina Health is dedicated to the prevention and treatment of illness and enhancing the greater health of individuals, families and communities throughout Minnesota and western Wisconsin. A nonprofit health care system, Allina Health cares for patients from beginning to end-of-life through its 90+ clinics, 12 hospital campuses, 14 retail pharmacies, and many specialty care centers and specialty medical services, home care, and emergency medical transportation services. Learn more at allinahealth.org and join us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.