Pinterest tag

Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute attains Paralympic Sports Club status

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. 2/15/2016 — U.S. Paralympics, a division of the United States Olympic Committee, recently announced that Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute has been recognized as a Bronze Level Club as a part of the Paralympic Sport Club Excellence Program, which also recognizes 57 other clubs across the country.

Created in 2013, the Excellence Program supports Paralympic Sport Clubs as they evolve their sport programming in areas such as athlete identification and coaching education, and recognize their contributions to growing the Paralympic movement in the United States.

“Paralympic Sport Clubs are critical for the development of athletes and the growth of the Paralympic movement in the United States,” said Rick Adams, chief of Paralympic sport and National Governing Body organizational development for the U.S. Olympic Committee. “We are grateful for the investment these Paralympic Sports Clubs have made in their communities, and we are proud to honor their commitment to excellence in supporting future Paralympians.”

The multi-tier excellence program has benchmarks at the bronze, silver and gold levels to give participating clubs a blueprint for transitioning from a basic provider (Bronze Level) to an elite provider (Gold Level) of Paralympic programming. After a Paralympic Sport Club completes a level, the club will be eligible to receive recognition and an award designated for the Bronze, Silver or Gold Level. Clubs designated as Gold or Silver receive a stipend for programming, while Bronze Level clubs receive recognition banners.

“We are proud of our long-standing commitment of supporting active lifestyles through seasonal adaptive sports and recreation activities,” said Eric Larson, supervisor, Sports & Recreation Department, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute. “The dedication of our staff and excellent community volunteers, along with financial support from generous donors, make it possible for us to deliver life-changing sports and recreation opportunities. We are grateful for the recognition as a Bronze level recipient with the Paralympic Sport Club Excellence Program.”

When the program launched in 2013, 24 programs were recognized. This year, an additional 14 clubs across the country achieved excellence for the first time or moved up a level from 2014. These 14 clubs are:

Gold Level awardees:
Ability 360, Phoenix, Ariz.
Arizona Disabled Sports, Mesa, Ariz.
Community Rowing Inc., Brighton, Mass.
Great Lakes Adaptive Sports Association, Lake Forest, Ill.
Lakeshore Foundation, Birmingham, Ala.
National Ability Center, Park City, Utah
Northeast Passage, Durham, N.H.
Silver Level awardee:
Bridge II Sports, Durham, N.C.
Bronze Level awardees:
Cincinnati Recreation Commission, Cincinnati, Ohio
Carolinas HealthCare System, Charlotte, N.C.
Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute - Golden Valley Campus, Minnesota
STRIDE Adaptive Sports, Renesslaer, N.Y.
Spaulding Adaptive Sports, East Sandwich, Mass.
Youth Challenge, Westlake, Ohio

Recognition levels are valid through the end of the quadrennial, and clubs have the option to move up the following year. 

About Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute

Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute, part of Allina Health, was created in 2013 by the merger of Courage Center and Sister Kenny Rehabilitation Institute. The Institute provides a continuum of rehabilitation services for people with short- and long-term conditions, injuries and disabilities in communities throughout Minnesota and western Wisconsin. Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute has multiple locations, and numerous programs and services. For more information visit

About Allina Health

Allina Health is dedicated to the prevention and treatment of illness and enhancing the greater health of individuals, families and communities throughout Minnesota and western Wisconsin. A not-for-profit health care system, Allina Health cares for patients from beginning to end-of-life through its 90+ clinics, 11 hospitals, 15 retail pharmacies, specialty care centers and specialty medical services, home care, and emergency medical transportation services.