Skip to main content

History

  • History of Cambridge Medical Center

    Cambridge Medical Center has a rich past. What is now a comprehensive regional medical center that serves over 160,000 people living in Isanti County and the surrounding areas had very modest beginnings.

    Back in 1950, Dr. Ray Magnuson and Dr. Gerald Larson opened a small clinic in Cambridge. Shortly thereafter, they identified the need for a community hospital and initiated a fund drive to build a hospital in Cambridge. In 1956, the 30-bed Memorial Hospital opened.

    Over the years, more physicians joined Drs. Magnuson and Larson. Drs. Magnuson and Larson and the new group of physicians formed a new medical practice called "Professional Medical Associates (PMA). The clinic was also known as "The Cambridge Clinic." The clinic twice moved to new facilities, eventually residing on the current site of the Cambridge Medical Center campus.

    As the need for medical care grew in the surrounding communities, satellite clinics were opened in Braham (1977), Ham Lake (1980), and North Branch (1996). Physicians traveled from Cambridge to see patients at these clinics.

    Since 1956, Memorial Hospital expanded twice from its initial 30-bed capacity. In 1968, the hospital expanded to 62 beds and in 1976 it expanded to its current 86-bed capacity.

    In 1995, Memorial Hospital and PMA independently, but collectively, joined Allina Health The clinic and hospital underwent a $12 million dollar remodeling and expansion project funded by Allina Health that merged the hospital and clinic into a combined medical center named "Cambridge Medical Center."

    Today, Cambridge Medical Center is a large and vibrant organization that is dedicated to caring for thousands of patients every year.

  • Dr. Ray Magnuson and Dr. Gerald Larson