Skip to main content

Mercy Hospital

Our staff is dedicated to helping you meet your philanthropy goals in support of Mercy and Unity hospitals. With many years of planning experience, we can help you make the most of your donation to our hospitals.

Please feel free to contact any of us for information on making a gift to Mercy or Unity hospital. The Foundation offices are located in the Lyric Building, on the Unity Hospital campus.

Mercy & Unity Hospitals Foundation
Lyric Building, Mail Route 53213
7590 Lyric Lane NE
Fridley, MN 55432-3251

Phone: 763-236-3961
Fax: 763-236-3960

Our staff

Joseph Strauss, president, Mercy & Unity Hospitals Foundation

Joseph Strauss



Kenna Dooley, development manager, Mercy & Unity Hospitals Foundation

Kenna Dooley

Development Manager


Andrea Melberg Thompson, senior development associate, Mercy & Unity Hospitals Foundation

Andrea Melberg Thompson

Senior Development Associate


Kathy Schultz, executive assistant, Mercy & Unity Hospitals Foundation

Kathy Schultz

Executive Assistant


Barb Ames, administrative assistant, Mercy & Unity Hospitals Foundation

Barb Ames

Administrative Assistant


The Mercy & Unity Hospitals Foundation is guided by a diverse group of community members, local business owners and health care providers. Our board of directors helps the Foundation with the direction and activities that best fulfill our mission to mee the health needs of our communities.


All officers serve on the Executive, Finance and Nominating Committees

John Stoltenberg, MD, Chair
Retired Allina Health Physician,
Retired Unity Hospital Interim President,
Community member
Wayzata, MN

Maureen Steinwall, CPA, PhD, Vice Chair
President and CEO
Steinwall, Inc.

Deets Mittelstadt, Secretary
Member and representative
Unity Hospital Auxiliary

Lisa K. Anderson, Treasurer
Vice President, Finance
Unity Hospital

Helen Kay McClintock, Past Chair
Retired nurse, Mercy Hospital
Community member
Blaine, MN

Board Members

David Beddow, MD
Allina Health

Jim Cormier
Building Sites, Inc.

Larry Crane
Market president
Northeast Bank - Coon Rapids

Mike Gamache
Mayor of Andover

Cynthia Gould
CEO, Gould’s Diamonds & Jewelry
Champlin, MN

Don Haller
Vice President,
Member Services &
Community Relations
Connexus Energy

Toni Lowinske
Past President, Mercy Auxiliary

Clayton McNeff, PhD
Chief Science Officer &
Director of Research
Mcgyan Biodiesel, LLC

Chris R. Mickman
Vice President
Mickman Brothers, Inc.

Trisha L. Mowry
President and CEO
Metal Craft

David Palmer
District Manager
Sodexo Healthcare

Eva Rasmussen
Vice President, Strategy & eBanking
Northeast Bank

Stephen C. Remole, MD, FACC
Metropolitan Heart & Vascular Institute

Jim Steffen
Trott Brook Financial

Kevin Webb
All American Title Company

Nick Zerwas
Minnesota House of Representative

Ex-Officio Members

Sara Criger
Mercy Hospital

Helen Strike
Unity Hospital