Skip to main content

Cancer care: Ovarian, cervical and uterine cancer

Skip section navigation
medical illustration of the female reproductive system

A woman's reproductive system and gynecologic cancer

Cancer is named for the part of the body where it starts. Gynecologic cancer begins in different places within a woman's reproductive system: the ovaries, uterus, vagina, vulva, and sometimes the fallopian tubes.

The most common types are ovarian cancer, cervical cancer and uterine (endometrial) cancer.

Ovarian, cervical and uterine cancer

Whether it's in the ovaries, cervix, uterus or another part of her reproductive system, each woman's risk of getting gynecologic cancer increases as she ages.

Our experts know the unique aspects of each type of gynecologic cancer. And they have the skills and compassion to bring you and your family through cancer diagnosis and treatment.

What is ovarian cancer?
What is cervical cancer?
What is uterine cancer?

One patient's story

Source: United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Gynecologic Cancers
Reviewed by: Paula Colwell, RN, manager, Virginia Piper Cancer Institute
First Published: 10/08/2009
Last Reviewed: 10/08/2009