Skip to main content


Guide for the Care of Children Online Manual

Skip section navigation


Smiling fruit plate

Your child needs to eat well-balanced meals and snacks every day to grow healthy and strong.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) offers these 10 tips for setting good nutrition examples.

Learn more about food groups and what makes a well balanced meal.


Source: Allina Health's Patient Education Department, Guide for the Care of Children: Ages Birth to 5 Years Old, fifth edition

To avoid awkward sentences, instead of referring to your child as "he/she" or "him/her," this guide will alternate between "he" or she" and "him" or "her."

First published: 02/01/2010
Last updated: 01/01/2014

Reviewed by: Allina Health's Patient Education Department experts, including the Pediatric Department of Allina Health Coon Rapids Clinic